Air France, dope or not?

airfrance_1975I am French and I have traveled the world. Yet this is the first time I flew with the tricolor airline: Air France. Often too expensive or having flights with non-accommodating schedules, I preferred to use for my flights Bangkok-Paris, the Arabian Airlines (Etihad / Gulf Air) or Thai Airways. A combination of circumstances made me finally embark on a nonstop flight with the code AF. At first glance, the Boeing 777-300 chartered for this route is a new model with very elegant and comfortable marine blue seats. Even in economy, the legroom makes for a pleasant journey.
The food is good but I regret that no choice is offered to passengers. Most international airlines offer at least two options for the menu (chicken or fish? Pasta or beef? …).
Another surprise: the prominence of alcohol on my meal tray. Two mini-bottles enthroned at its center: porto and red wine (of course). I know how the French love their liquor but was it really necessary to display it that way?

In-flight entertainment was really practical and enjoyable. When living abroad, French cinema is not well distributed if compared to American blockbusters, so I was happy to find out that the available French movies were really recent. This has allowed me to watch the latest Michel Gondry: L’écume des jours.

Last remark, and not the least, the level of English of the staff on board isn’t good for a company of this caliber. If a majority of French people were seated in the plane, I felt sorry for the other nationalities on board. The announcements made by the head cabin crew and the pilot throughout the flight were read in a broken English, with a very thick accent. It might sound “romantic” and adds a little “je ne sais quoi” but it’s not really informative. Ooh la la … c’est la vie!

like
1. The route
2. The comfy and brand new plane
3. Great In flight entertainment

unlike
1. Bad english proficiency
2. No food option
3. Alcoholic beverages

